Hello hello

This is my thrift store blog. I go around to different stores and I take pictures of things that amuse me and I write about them later. I can’t think of a better explanation than that. I used to have another thrift store blog but that had to end for a lot of reasons, so now I have this one. I think it is better.

The post archives are on the right, and immediately above these words are a few useful resources. There’s a google map I’ve been working on for the past couple years, detailing the location of some of the better secondhand spots in the greater Memphis area. For several reasons, I mainly stick to thrift stores, but as time progresses and this project continues I may start to branch out to flea markets and maybe the occasional estate sale or two. Who knows. There’s also a directory of addresses and phone numbers for most of the aforementioned stores, along with the most recent posted hours I could find. These things tend to change a bit over time so if I haven’t been able to verify the hours of a store recently, I left it off. I’ll update them as I go. It’s a plain text list, and I might try to fancy it up a little bit over time, but as you can no doubt tell, I’m not a web designer and clearly have no idea what I’m doing, so it’s pretty slow going. Keep your eyes peeled for animated GIFs at every turn.

There’s also a little background information about me (and by a little I mean a LITTLE) and why I do what I do, although I’m not entirely clear on that point JUST yet so that’ll probably get fleshed out over time as well. There are also some links to other projects I’m working on or have worked on in the past – I eat things for fun and (no) profit (whatsoever), and I also have a personal blog where I bitch about things. It kind of sucks. There’s also a lot of links to friends of mine who blog about various subjects (usually their cats), and some other Memphis sites I like, some thrift store sites, and the usual ephemera. I never look at anyone’s link pages and I highly doubt anyone will look at mine, but I thought I’d build one anyway so there it is.

That’s about it as far as introductions go – I’m going to try and hit at least one store a week at the outset, until I get most of the nuts and bolts issues of running this blog nailed down. Once I streamline the whole process hopefully I can pick up that pace a little. The best way to follow along is to take advantage of the RSS feed (there’s also a link on the right) – if you’ve never used RSS before, it’s pretty much the easiest way to keep track of regularly updating sites like blogs, news sites, etc. Most browsers have built in RSS capability now, so just play around with it a little and see if you like it. If not, you can always use google reader or something, or just bookmark us and check back in every week or so. For the first few weeks/months things will probably be changing and getting tweaked and evolving around here, so keep your eyes peeled for new developments. Comments are always appreciated, as are hot oil massages. Somehow I sense I’ll be receiving more of the former than the latter. Although who knows? I suppose that’s up to you, isn’t it, dear reader. See you around.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Hello hello

  1. Hi,
    I found your blog today and was truly delighted! I used to live in Memphis and loved the Thrift City on Winchester. I have also lived in Savannah and love that Salvation Army on Montgomery. You took me back. Thank you!

  2. Amy says:

    Could you do me a huge favor and shoot me an email? My husband and I are huge followers of Bitter Books and recent Memphis transplants, blah, blah, blah. Very long story short, as of today I am now the manager of the MIFA thrift store and have many questions and things to discuss with you. Thank you and good day.

  3. Auntie M says:

    The Saver’s in Madison is having a “Hawaii 5-0” sale on Memorial day. 50% off anything labeled Bed Bath and Beyond.

  4. Kerry says:

    Followed to the new corner of the intertubes.

  5. Pingback: Books About new thing Books About

  6. I found your previous blog right when you were shutting it down. I’m glad you started this one.

    And I will be checking your links page!

Leave a Reply

